Skip to main content

Nil Aygun

Advisor(s): Jason Stein
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: nil1@live.unc.edu


Darius Bost

Advisor(s): Kirk Wilhelmsen
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: dariusmb@email.unc.edu


Yanwei Cai

Advisor(s): William Valdar
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ywcai@email.unc.edu


Meng Cheng

Advisor(s): Yue Xiong
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: meng93@email.unc.edu


Tom Christy

Advisor(s): Kevin Weeks
Current Research Project: Utilizing chemical modification and computational analysis to elucidate RNA tertiary structural elements.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: twchrist@email.unc.edu


Nicholas Colaianni

Advisor(s): Jeff Dangl and Corbin Jones
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ncolaian@live.unc.edu


Aaron Crain

Advisor(s): Bob Duronio
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: acrain@unc.edu


Alex Crocker

Advisor(s): Tim Elston & Amy Gladfelter
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: dinosaur@live.unc.edu


Kevin Currin

Advisor(s): Karen Mohlke
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: kwcurrin@email.unc.edu


Marshall Davey

Advisor(s): Boyce Griffith
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: mrdavey@live.unc.edu


Eric Davis

Advisor(s): Doug Phanstiel
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ericscottdavis@outlook.com


Nate Diehl

Advisor(s): Channing Der
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: nate_diehl@med.unc.edu


Lauren Donoghue

Advisor(s): Samir Kelada
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: ldonoghu@email.unc.edu


Dayne Filer

Advisor(s): Kirk Wilhelmsen
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: MD/PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: dayne_filer@med.unc.edu


Joseph Foster

Advisor(s): Ian Davis
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jfoster3@email.unc.edu


Kathleen Furtado

Advisor(s): Rita Tamayo
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Microbiology and Immunology
Email: kfurtado@unc.edu


Brea Hampton

Advisor(s): Mark Heise and Martin Ferris
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: hamptb10@email.unc.edu


Yuriko Harigaya

Advisor(s): Yuchao Jiang
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: harigaya@live.unc.edu


Susanna Harris

Advisor(s): Elizabeth Shank and Jeff Dangl
Current Research Project: Mixed-species bacterial interactions shaping the Arabidopsis thaliana microbiome
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Microbiology and Immunology
Email: slharrs@email.unc.edu


J Cody Herron

Advisor(s): Tim Elston and Klaus Hahn
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jch@email.unc.edu


Andrew Hinton

Advisor(s): Wesley Burks and Peter Mucha
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: andrew84@email.unc.edu


Josh Hochuli

Advisor(s): Alex Tropsha
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jhochuli@live.unc.edu


Haeun (Hannah) Hwangbo

Advisor(s): Adam Palmer
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: hhwangbo@unc.edu


Lance Jubic

Advisor(s): Jeff Dangl
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: lance23@email.unc.edu


Michael Kelly

Advisor(s): Hector Franco
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: mkelly95@live.unc.edu


Meaghan Kennedy

Advisor(s): Terry Furey and Shehzad Sheikh
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: meagkenn@live.unc.edu


Nicole Kramer

Advisor(s): Doug Phanstiel
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: nekramer@live.unc.edu


Jayashree Kumar

Advisor(s): Alain Laederach
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jkumar12@email.unc.edu


Mike Lafferty

Advisor(s): Jason Stein
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: mikelaff@email.unc.edu


Brandon Le

Advisor(s): Jason Stein
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: brandon_le@med.unc.edu


Dan Liang

Advisor(s): Jason Stein
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: danliang@email.unc.edu


Siyao Liu

Advisor(s): Charles Perou
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: siyao@email.unc.edu


Shelsa Marcel

Advisor(s): Ian Davis & Joel Parker
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: shelsa@email.unc.edu


Katie Metz Reed

Advisor(s): Douglas Phanstiel
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: ksmetz@email.unc.edu


Sarah Parker

Advisor(s): Doug Phanstiel
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: sarmae@live.unc.edu


Brandon Price

Advisor(s): Joel Parker
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: baprice@email.unc.edu


Jolene Ranek

Advisor(s): Jeremy Purvis
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ranekj@live.unc.edu


Matt Regner

Advisor(s): Hector Franco and Joel Parker
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: regnerm@live.unc.edu


Isai Salas Gonzalez

Advisor(s): Jeff Dangl
Current Research Project: Utilizing synthetic ecology and phylogenomics to unravel A. thaliana microbiome assembly.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: isai@email.unc.edu


Ian Seim

Advisor(s): Amy Gladfelter and Daphne Klotsa
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: iseim@live.unc.edu


Michael Senter

Advisor(s): Laura Miller
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: dmsenter@ad.unc.edu


Jamshaid Shahir

Advisor(s): Jeremy Purvis
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jashahir@live.unc.edu


Ian Sturgill

Advisor(s): Katie Hoadley
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: irsturgill@unc.edu


Hang Su

Advisor(s): Leonard McMillan
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program:
Email: hangsu@email.unc.edu


Kathie Sun

Advisor(s): Will Valdar
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: sunk@med.unc.edu


Anne Talkington

Advisor(s): Greg Forest and Sam Lai
Current Research Project: A physiologically-based pharmacokinetic model for clearance and targeting of nanomedicines.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: annemt@email.unc.edu


Logan Whitehouse

Advisor(s): Dan Schrider
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: lswhiteh@live.unc.edu


Emmaleigh Wilson

Advisor(s): Karen Mohlke and Yun Li
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ewilson9@live.unc.edu


Alex Woodell

Advisor(s): Shawn Hingtgen
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Email: alex.woodell@unc.edu


Youli Xia

Advisor(s): Charles Perou
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: youlix@email.unc.edu


Jiali Zhu

Advisor(s): Paul Maddox and Ehssan Nazockdast
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jializ@live.unc.edu