Amy Allen

Advisor(s): Tim Elston and Henrik Dohlman
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: aeallen@email.unc.edu


Darius Bost

Advisor(s): Kirk Wilhelmsen
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: dariusmb@email.unc.edu


Yanwei Cai

Advisor(s): William Valdar
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ywcai@email.unc.edu


Shengjie Chai

Advisor(s): Jonathan S. Serody and Jan F. Prins
Current Research Project: Neoantigen discovery from somatic variants and splice variants.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: shengjie@email.unc.edu


Sherry Chao

Advisor(s): Jeremy Purvis
Current Research Project: Single cell analysis of cytoplasmic regulation of p53 by CUL9
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: hui-xiao_chao@med.unc.edu


Tom Christy

Advisor(s): Kevin Weeks
Current Research Project: Utilizing chemical modification and computational analysis to elucidate RNA tertiary structural elements.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: twchrist@email.unc.edu


Kyla Collins

Advisor(s): Shawn Gomez and Gary Johnson
Current Research Project: Global characterization of the breast cancer kinome using network properties
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: lutzka@email.unc.edu


Meredith Corley

Advisor(s): Alain Laederach
Current Research Project: Allele-specific post-transcriptional regulation and the role of transcript secondary structure
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: mcorley@email.unc.edu


Robert Corty

Advisor(s): William Valdar
Current Research Project: Trait variability in model organism research
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: robert_corty@med.unc.edu


Wes Crouse

Advisor(s): Samir Kelada and William Valdar
Current Research Project: Statistical analyses related to gene-environment interaction in allergic airway disease
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: wcrouse@email.unc.edu


Kevin Currin

Advisor(s): Karen Mohlke
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: kwcurrin@email.unc.edu


Sherif Farag

Advisor(s): Alex Tropsha
Current Research Project: Rational design of chemicals lacking estrogen disrupting potentials
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: farags@email.unc.edu


Ray Haggerty

Advisor(s): Jeremy Purvis
Current Research Project: Image analysis of single-cell fluorescence microscopy and mathematical modeling of signaling dynamics
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: haggerty@unc.edu


Susanna Harris

Advisor(s): Elizabeth Shank and Jeff Dangl
Current Research Project: Mixed-species bacterial interactions shaping the Arabidopsis thaliana microbiome
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Microbiology and Immunology
Email: slharrs@email.unc.edu


Sur Herrera Paredes

Advisor(s): Jeff Dangl and Corbin Jones
Current Research Project: Unravelling host control of the root microbiome
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: sur@email.unc.edu


Thanh Hoang

Advisor(s): Tim Elston
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: hoangtt@email.unc.edu


Charles Hodgens

Advisor(s): Joe Kieber
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: hodgens@email.unc.edu


Reed B. Jacob

Advisor(s): Nikolay Dokholyan
Current Research Project: Identifying low molecular weight alternatives for organophosphate bioscavenger pretreatment
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: rbjacob@email.unc.edu


Greg Keele

Advisor(s): William Valdar
Current Research Project: Development of statistical methodologies and tools for the design and analysis of multiparent model organism populations.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: gkeele@email.unc.edu


Benjamin Keith

Advisor(s): Terry Furey
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: bpk@unc.edu


Jessime Kirk

Advisor(s): Mauro Calabrese
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jessime@email.unc.edu


Katrina Kutchko

Advisor(s): Alain Laederach
Current Research Project: Using high-throughput RNA structural probing to assess the conservation of RNA structural elements
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: kutchko@email.unc.edu


Minnie Langlois

Advisor(s): Brian Kuhlman
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: minnie@email.unc.edu


Dan Liang

Advisor(s): Jason Stein
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: danliang@email.unc.edu


Jack Maguire

Advisor(s): Brian Kuhlman
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jackmag@email.unc.edu


Paul Maurizio

Advisor(s): William Valdar and Mark Heise
Current Research Project: Modeling the Host Genetic Determinants of Influenza Virus Pathogenesis
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: maurizio@email.unc.edu


Patrick McCarter

Advisor(s): Timothy Elston and Henrik Dohlman
Current Research Project: Developing mathematical models of stress-activated signaling pathways
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: pcmccart@email.unc.edu


Andrew P. Morgan

Advisor(s): Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena
Current Research Project: Copy-number variation and evolution in mouse
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: apm@email.unc.edu


Daniel Oreper

Advisor(s): William Valdar
Current Research Project: Methods to identify parent-of-origin effects on behavior via reciprocal mouse crosses
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: doreper@email.unc.edu


Bryan Quach

Advisor(s): Terry Furey
Current Research Project: Transcription factor binding site prediction using supervised discriminatory machine learning
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: bquach@email.unc.edu


Chelsea "Raulie" Raulerson

Advisor(s): Karen Mohlke and Terry Furey
Current Research Project: Identifying genetic variants that influence expression in adipose tissue using RNA-sequencing and eQTL analysis.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: craulers@email.unc.edu


Nur M. Shahir

Advisor(s): Terry Furey
Current Research Project: Gut Microbiome in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: nmshahir@email.unc.edu


Mariesa Slaughter

Advisor(s): Ian Davis
Current Research Project: Assessing the role of chromatin remodelers in cancer progression
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Genetics and Molecular Biology
Email: mariesa@email.unc.edu


Jeff Snell

Advisor(s): Ned Sharpless and Tim Elston
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: jeffffff@email.unc.edu


Natalie Stanley

Advisor(s): Peter Mucha
Current Research Project: Probabilistic models for community structure in networks
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: stanleyn@email.unc.edu


Sara Suzuki

Advisor(s): Tim Elston and Henrik Dohlman
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: sksuzuki@email.unc.edu


Frank Teets

Advisor(s): Klaus Hahn and Brian Kuhlman
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: frankdt@email.unc.edu


Chanin Tolson

Advisor(s): Alain Laederach
Current Research Project: Visualization and prediction of shifts in RNA structural ensembles
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: ctolson@email.unc.edu


William Weir

Advisor(s):
Current Research Project: I am investigating how toxicant exposure affects the chromatin structure and expression levels in mice using NexGen sequencing.
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: MD/PhD
Email: wweir@med.unc.edu


Joshua Welch

Advisor(s): Jan Prins
Current Research Project: Computational methods for studying transcriptome dynamics
Degree Type: BCB Certificate, PhD Program: Computer Science
Email: jwelch@cs.unc.edu


Youli Xia

Advisor(s): Charles Perou
Current Research Project:
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: youlix@email.unc.edu


Scott Yourstone

Advisor(s): Jeff Dangl and Corbin Jones
Current Research Project: Estimating the functional potential of endophytic microbial communities of Arabidopsis thaliana
Degree Type: PhD Curriculum, PhD Program: Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Email: yourston@email.unc.edu